Quali 2: Tom Blomqvist lines up pole as Ekstrom takes penalty. Paul di Resta takes second and Nico Muller takes third.

Audi’s Mattias Ekstrom posted the best lap of DTM Sunday qualifying but due to a penalty, BMW’s Tom Blomqvist lines up on pole instead. Paul di Resta takes second and Nico Muller takes third

After causing the crash that took himself and the Mercedes’ duo Christian Vietoris and Robert Wickens out of race 1, Mattias Ekstrom received a 3-place grid penalty. A move which gifted victory for teammate Edoardo Mortara.

Marco Wittmann was the first driver of the weekend to dip into the 47s margin with a 47.967s late into the session. However, his time was insufficient for pole. Lucas Auer followed suit, taking 0.007s off of Wittmanns time; then Paul di Resta put in an impressive lap of 47.967s.

This time was still not the fastest we’d see in this session.

Coming into the final moments of the session, Ekstrom put in a new best lap of 47.804s which proved sufficient for pole. Tom Blomqvist was the best of the rest coming within 0.016s of Ekstroms time.

Di Resta couldn’t improve on his final lap, so settled for third, but because of Ekstroms penalty he starts P2.

Nico Muller was closest and will thus start third, lining up ahead of the penalized Ekstrom.

Auer ended up P5, ahead of Maxime Martin and Wickens in P6 and P7, the top seven, eventually being split by just a tenth.

Adrien Tambay, Mortara and Wittmann rounded out the top 10.

Race 1 winner Vietoris had a qualifying to forget, having to settle for P15. Jamie Green equally had a bad session, having to settle for P16.


1. Tom Blomqvist

2. Paul di Resta

3. Nico Müller

4. Mattias Ekström (Penalty)

5. Lucas Auer

6. Maxime Martin

7. Robert Wickens

8. Adrien Tambay

9. Edoardo Mortara

10. Marco Wittmann

11. Antonio Felix da Costa

12. Maximilian Götz

13. Timo Scheider

14. Bruno Spengler

15. Christian Vietoris

16. Jamie Green

17. Mike Rockenfeller

18. Gary Paffett

19. Esteban Ocon

20. Daniel Juncadella

21. Timo Glock

22. Augusto Farfus

23. Miguel Molina

24. Martin Tomczyk

Race 2: Nico Muller uses better strategy to beat pole sitter Tom Blomqvist. Maxime Martin takes third.

Tom Blomqvist, who inherited pole position from Ekstrom because of his penalty, had a good start and led the field off the line.

Mattias Ekstrom didn’t have a good start, clipping Paul di Resta’s Mercedes at turn 1 and causing damage to his car, he pulled into the pits at the end of lap 1.

The safety car was brought out to clear the debris and after the debris was cleared racing resumed, with Blomqvist controlling the restart and built up his lead to a second by the end of the lap.

Nico Muller, who overtook Di Resta at the start, was the only driver that kept up with Blomqvist and looked set to challenge at the end of the race.

Di Resta couldn’t match Muller’s and Blomqvists pace and fell three seconds behind, closely followed by Lucas Auer and Maxime Martin.

Di Resta and Martin pitted early, which meant Auer inherited third place, and set off catching the front running duo.

Just as Auer caught up to the front two and looked to overtake, he dived into the pits, but a slow stop put him out of contention for a race win. Martin Tomczyk, di Resta and Martin where all ahead of Auer as he left the pits.

Blomqvist pitted on the next lap and rejoined in P2 with only Muller ahead who had not yet pitted.

Muller had a different strategy and stayed for another nine laps. He pitted and emerged just ahead of Blomqvist and on fresher tires, built up a lead of two seconds.

Muller kept his lead to Blomqvist and the duo comfortably held first and second until a safety car was deployed.

The safety car was deployed because of an incident between Antonio Felix da Costa and Daniel Juncadella at turn 1, leaving debris all over the track. This was Da Costa’s third incident in the race: first hitting Adrien Tambay at Turn 1 and secondly getting spun by Christian Vietoris.

Muller led from the restart after a superb start, giving Blomqvist no opportunity to pass, and cruised to the finish.

Blomqvist took second, with Maxime Martin taking third. It would be the pair’s second podium finishes of their respective campaigns, followed by Di Resta in fourth.

Di Resta held off Auer, who in turn had to hold off Marco Wittmann.

Bruno Spengler finished in seventh with Edoardo Mortara, Timo Glock and Tomczyk in eight, ninth and tenth respectively.


1. Nico Müller

2. Tom Blomqvist

3. Maxime Martin

4. Paul di Resta

5. Lucas Auer

6. Marco Wittmann

7. Bruno Spengler

8. Edoardo Mortara

9. Timo Glock

10. Martin Tomczyk

11. Robert Wickens

12. Maxmilian Götz

13. Esteban Ocon

14. Miguel Molina

15. Christian Vietoris

16. Timo Scheider

17. Mike Rockenfeller


18. Adrien Tambay

19. Daniel Juncadella

20. Antonio Felix da Costa

21. Gary Paffett

22. Jamie Green

23. Mattias Ekström

24. Augusto Farfus

Read more from Jack Dixon