Pole sitter Enaam Ahmed made a lightning begin and did not think once more from that point as he took a controlled triumph in race one of the Duo BRDC British Formula 3 Autumn Trophy at Snetterton.

Dan Ticktum made a less noteworthy getaway and at first dropped to fourth. He managed to fight back to third by the checkered flag, as Douglas Motorsport’s Joey Mawson asserted second place.

After a thrilling qualifying session, which saw the main 10 drivers separated by only six-tenths of a second, it was Carlin’s Ahmed that started as the leader of the field for the first of four races in Norfolk this weekend.

As the lights went out, he made a wonderful getaway. Double R Racing’s Dan Ticktum dropped from second to fourth, with Mawson moving into second and James Pull taking third having begun sixth.

Fighting back, Tarun Reddy lost ground and he fell back to sixth having started the race fourth. His Double R colleague, Kiwi Marcus Armstrong, increased one position to keep running in seventh towards the end of the opening lap.

In the wake of losing two positions toward the begin, Dan Ticktum was soon on the back of Pull and pushing him around the circuit. Ticktum utilized the long back straight to draw the Carlin in, sliding down the inside under braking at Brundle to take third. In the interim in advance, Ahmed was pushing hard and he opened his lead up over Mawson to more than 2.5s.

Pull, having seen Ticktum go past, was under huge assault from South African Callan O’Keeffe and saw another position vanish down the Bentley Straight as the Fortec Motorsports man got an extraordinary run off of the corner before.

While the Double R matching of Reddy and Armstrong threw everything at Pull to try and make the pass, neither one of the drivers could mount a genuine assault on the Brit for fifth position.

As the race headed into its end stages, German Formula 4 Champion Mawson began closing down on leader Ahmed, bringing the lead gap to inside 1.3s with three laps remaining.

However, Ahmed reacted. He increased his own pace to take the win 1.416 seconds ahead of Mawson.

Behind the podium trio came O’Keefe and Pull, with Reddy and Armstrong line toward the back in sixth and seventh. Eighth went to Douglas Motorsport’s Jamie Caroline with Cameron Das and Ben Hingeley rounding out the top ten.

Read more from Nick Lloyd